Skip to content

Remove file from Subversion after svn add, but before svn commit

May 6, 2009
Subversion code versioning system Logo

Subversion code versioning system Logo

If you do not want to add a certain file to your subversion repository, but it is already marked to be committed (by an already issued  svn add command) you can just type:

svn revert file.ext

to undo the add command.

If you remember to do it before the corresponding svn commit, doing this helps keeping the repository to a decent size. If you already commited the changes, you can remove it using svn delete (and an extra –force argument, if needed), but the space is wasted.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: